Skip to main content

Cancelling the Subscription and Extracting your Data

Discover how to cancel your subscription and extract your data from the system.

Written by John Allen

Please read this article in full prior to cancelling your Subscription.

If you wish to cancel your subscription and extract your data, you first need to contact your account manager - When you choose to cancel your subscription, you will lose access to the features of the system, including clinical notes.

We will of course let you extract your data from the system (instructions below), however, bear in mind that this will be in a series of CSV files, not necessarily in the same 'on screen' format shown on the system. If you wish to retain this specific structure and format, you should consider keeping a single License.

Once you have discussed the cancellation of your subscription with them you will then be able to proceed and extract your data f and close down your account, following the steps below.

  • Log in to the system (Via a web browser)

  • Browse to Billing > Subscriptions - found under your login details at the top of the screen

  • In the section for 'Cancel your Subscription' choose the option to 'Extract my files and data' (Please contact your Account Manager to enable this option for you if this does not appear)

  • Please note, that you should only do this when you are ready to cancel as once you start the process, you will no longer have access to the system.

  • It may take some time to collate all the data for download - you will receive an email notifying you whenever the data is ready to be extracted

  • When you receive the email notifying you that the data is ready, please check the attached text file for any errors that were encountered. If there are any errors in this text file, please contact the technical support team (support@blue-zinc.com)

  • Log back into the system (Via a web browser) to continue the process, you should get this screen -

  • Before you can download the data, you need to download and run a small application - please choose the appropriate option depending on your operating system (Windows or Mac) - Please note that by downloading this tool it does not download your data, you need to continue with the process as below

Important Information for Mac users

You may get a warning message that says the file cannot be opened. If this is the case, press cancel on the warning, open System Preferences>Security and Privacy and select 'Open Anyway' beside where it says 'E-Clinic Download Tool was blocked from use'

  • Once downloaded, run the file and when prompted enter Your E-Clinic URL - including https:// at the start e.g. https://theclinic.e-clinic.co.uk Your E-Clinic Login email address, Your E-ClinicPassword

  • Depending how much data you have, and the speed of your internet connection, it may take some time to download the data

  • When the download is completed, you will file a folder called tmBase. This will contain

  • CSV - the raw data extracted from your system tables into CSV files

  • Letters - any letters, emails, documents, that you have added into, or created through E-Clinic

  • PDFs - this will contain your clinical notes in PDF form. They are listed out by Patient ID, and then case - you can find these details in the cases CSV file

  • Folder 0 will contain patients 1-999

  • Folder 1 will contain patients 1000-1999 etc etc

  • Within an individual patients folder, e.g. 197, there may be multiple cases

  • Please note that any desktop created cases will not be exported to PDF, but the data can be found in the CSV files

  • SAR - this will contain any SARs you have processed.

Important Notes

  • When you have downloaded a copy of your data, you need to log back into the system once more, confirm you have extracted your data and wish to close your account.

  • Once you have confirmed your cancellation, your subscription will be cancelled (If you don't log in to confirm your cancellation, your subscription will continue until you have done this)

  • You may still have one further bill for any PAYG Appointment, Class, and SMS charges, so please leave your direct debit in place until after the 15th of the following month.

  • We will then permanently delete the data from our servers.

Did this answer your question?