Skip to main content

Case Settings

Details about Case Settings in Clinical.

A
Written by Andy Wilson

The first section within the Clinical Set Up is 'Case Settings' which you can see in the image below. Here you can configure your current case settings and set up special diagnosis codes.

Below each setting is a brief description of what each does.


This section contains 14 different settings which can be turned off by a slider and 1 option for adjusting the diagnosis code list available in the case. These are listed below. When it is swiped right, the slider turns blue which represents the option is on. If the slider is grey and to the left, this represents the option is turned off.

1. Every consultation needs an appointment

This option will force all consultations in a case record to be linked to an appointment. Users will be unable to add a consultation without an appointment.

As this option is turned on, when I try to add a consultation from within a case, a list of appointments appear that I am able to link the consultation to, otherwise I should choose 'Go to Diary to Book an Appointment.' This is shown in the image below.

2. Treatment authorisations can be edited/created from Clinical Records

This will allow all users who have access to administer treatment authorisations.

Within a case there is a treatment authorisation section on the top banner (highlighted in the image). It displays if there are any treatment authorisation codes belonging to that client and you are able to add and edit these.

3. Show cases with incomplete notes on home screen

This will add add pre-set filter in the cases area of the system for "Incomplete cases". Clicking this filter will show all incomplete cases:

4. Include data when adding a recently used modality from the current case

This means when using a recent modality from the current case, the data attached to the modality will be added as well.

5. Include data when adding a recently used assessment from the current case

This means when using a recent modality from the current case, the data attached to the assessment will be added as well.

If this option is turned on and you have completed an assessment and you add the same assessment in another consultation then it will pull through the information that you set the first time you added the assessment.

6. Prompt for consultation type when adding First Appointment to case

This will provide a prompt to choose which type of consultation template you wish to use when a first appointment is booked with a new patient or in a new case.

7. Only allow assigned practitioners and system admins to view cases

This means that if any users on the system outside the user connected to the practitioner on the case or any system admins will be unable to view the case and will get the following error:

8. Restrict Practitioners to only view Clients they have been assigned to, or have had a clinical case with

This means that if any users on the system try to view the patient, they will only have access if they are listed as the assigned practitioner, are a system admin, or have a had a case previously with the patient. Any other users will see the following error:

9. Current diagnosis code list: Diagnosis Codes

This is a selectable option where you are able to choose what clinical list you would like to use for your diagnosis codes on a case. To set up a new list for diagnosis codes, go to Settings > Clinical > Clinical Lists and "Add new".

10/11/12. Show Practitioner Number/Practitioner Code/Contract Number on consultations

Ticking these options will display additional details on the actual consultation notes, including the practitioner number, practitioner code and contract number which will be automatically pulled from the fields within the patient/practitioner records if completed.

13. Required fields on consultations cannot be skipped or bypassed

This will cause the user to be unable to leave a consultation without completing the mandatory fields, meaning the option for "Skip for now" will no longer appear:

14. Allow clinical staff to add charges from case

This is an option to add a charge for a consultation. This is typically used if the option to add consultations without an appointment is ticked, meaning consultations can be added without charges:


As well as these 6 slider options we have a further 3 "Automation" options which are set up by choosing the setting from this list.

1. Inactivity Trigger (days)

Inactivity is defined as a period when no Consultation, Assessment, Clinical File Note, Score, Goal, or Image has been added to the case. You can adjust how long a case has to have had none of these actions before it is marked as an inactive case:

2. Cases that have been discharged will auto-lock

This is a toggleable settings where you can choose the time taken before a case automatically locks once discharged. You can choose any of the following options, or you can manually lock independent cases:

2. Consultations and images will auto-lock

Similar to the previous setting, you can choose a time period that must pass before any consultations/images within a case become auto-locked:

Did this answer your question?